Nephrology ICD-9 to ICD-10 Code Conversions

Nephrology ICD-9 to ICD-10 Crosswalk

Note: For certain ICD-10 codes, there may be more specific code choice selections available. Make sure to review whether a more specific code exists. Codes with a greater degree of specificity should be considered first.

* Indicates ICD-10 codes requiring a 7th character extender.

25 of the Most Common Nephrology ICD 10 Codes


V56.0 Aftercare involving extracorporeal dialysis

V59.4 Kidney donors

ICD-10-CM Codes

250.00 Diabetes mellitus without mention of complication, type II or unspecified type, not stated as uncontrolled

276.2 Acidosis

ICD-10-CM Codes

276.7 Hyperpotassemia

ICD-10-CM Codes

280.9 Iron deficiency anemia unspecified

285.9 Anemia unspecified

440.1 Atherosclerosis of renal artery

458.9 Hypotension

584.5 Acute kidney failure with lesion of tubular necrosis

584.9 Acute kidney failure unspecified

585.1 Chronic kidney disease stage I

585.2 Chronic kidney disease stage II (mild)

585.3 Chronic kidney disease stage III (moderate)

585.4 Chronic kidney disease stage IV (severe)

585.5 Chronic kidney disease stage V

585.6 End stage renal disease

585.9 Chronic kidney disease unspecified

586 Kidney failure unspecified

587 Renal sclerosis unspecified

593.2 Cyst of kidney acquired

593.9 Unspecified disorder of kidney and ureter

599.0 Urinary Tract Infection, site not specified

753.10 Cystic kidney disease unspecified

791.0 Proteinuria

* Indicates ICD-10 codes requiring a 7th character extender.

For more ICD-10 codes, please visit PGM’s ICD-10 code conversion tool that allows users to convert ICD-9 to ICD-10 codes and vice versa by selecting the ICD conversion type followed by a user defined code.